City of Austin Council Meeting Backup: November 21, 2024

RESOLUTION NO.

WHEREAS, on November 5, 2024, a general municipal election was held for the purpose of electing the Mayor and City Council Members (single member districts) for District 2, District 4, District 6, District 7, and District 10; and on the same date a special election was held to present to the voters one proposition (Proposition P) regarding removing an area from the City's extraterritorial jurisdiction, and voters were given the option of voting "for" or "against" the proposition; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the general election have been made to the Council and show that the votes for Mayor and City Council Members were cast as follows:

<u>Mayor</u>

Carmen D. Llanes Pulido	70,540	
Jeffery L. Bowen	29,383	
Doug Greco	16,865	
Kirk Watson	175,096	
Kathie Tovo	58,280	
<u>City Council Member District 2</u>		
Vanessa Fuentes	22,591	
Robert Reynolds	3,780	

City Council Member District 4

Louis Herrin 1,149

Page 1 of 4

City of Austin Council Meeting Backup: Novem	ber 21, 2024	File ID: 24-6268 Version 2 Item 1
Monica Guzman	5,223	
Eduardo "Lalito" Romero	630	
Jose "Chito" Vela	11,034	
Jim Rabuck	819	
City Council Member Dist	<u>rict 6</u>	
Krista Laine	14,008	
Mackenzie Kelly	13,283	
City Council Member Dist	<u>rict 7</u>	
Gary L. Bledsoe	6,625	
Pierre Huy Nguyen	5,110	
Todd Shaw	2,973	
Edwin Bautista	2,135	
Mike Siegel	13,682	
Adam Powell	3,828	
City Council Member Dist	<u>rict 10</u>	
Marc Duchen	20,811	
Ashika Ganguly	20,321; and	
WHEREAS. Kirk Wa	tson received a majority o	of all votes cast for the office

WHEREAS, Kirk Watson received a majority of all votes cast for the office of Mayor; and

WHEREAS, Vanessa Fuentes received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 2; and

WHEREAS, Jose "Chito" Vela received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 4; and

WHEREAS, Krista Laine received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 6; and

WHEREAS, of the two candidates who received the highest number of votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 7, those being Gary L. Bledsoe and Mike Siegel, neither candidate received a majority of all votes cast for City Council Member District 7; and

WHEREAS, Marc Duchen received a majority of all votes cast for the office of City Council Member District 10; and

WHEREAS, the returns of the special election have been made to the Council and show that the votes for and against Proposition P were cast as follows:

For

Against

3; and

7

WHEREAS, a majority of all votes cast in the special election were cast for Proposition P; **NOW**, **THEREFORE**,

BE IT RESOLVED BY THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF AUSTIN:

The Council finds that all of the recitals contained in this resolution are true and adopts them as findings of fact by this governing body; and

The Council finds that the results of the general election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election; and

The Council accepts and approves the returns for the general election, as tabulated and received and canvassed, and declares that the following persons are

declared elected and may qualify for the office indicated for terms that begin January 6, 2025:

Mayor	Kirk Watson
City Council Member District 2	Vanessa Fuentes
City Council Member District 4	Jose "Chito" Vela
City Council Member District 6	Krista Laine
City Council Member District 10	Marc Duchen; and

In order to elect a City Council Member for District 7, the City Council shall order a runoff election as soon as is practicable and no later than the fifth day after this canvass as required by state law (Texas Election Code § 2.024); and

The Council finds that the results of the special election as tabulated and canvassed reflect the votes cast at the election; and

The Council accepts and approves the returns for the special election, as tabulated and received and canvassed, and declares that Proposition P passed; and

With this canvass, Council is making official the precinct returns received from the counties.

ADOPTED:

____, 2024 ATTEST: ______

Myrna Rios City Clerk